1. If you cannot verify your email address or recover your password, you need to call your ISP and tell them to stop blocking your email from this site.
    Dismiss Notice

Taste Vs. Smell

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by JeremyLangford, May 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JeremyLangford

JeremyLangford Member

Oct 18, 2009
    I'm a newbie slowly learning. I recently bought an estate straight kaywoodie bulldog pipe (from a flea market) that smokes great as well as my first pipe tool. With this new pipe and my first tamper, I never have to light more than twice and I always easily smoke to the bottom of the bowl. I am straying away from the bland aromatics that I started with and have begun to try many non-aromatic blends from a shop near my hometown called Gatlinburlier. With my new, better quality pipe tobacco and pipe, I really enjoy smoking. I never inhale and I try to simply enjoy the taste. However, one thing I've been noticing lately is that it's usually not really the taste to my tongue that I enjoy, but the smell of the smoke as it leaves my mouth. Does this makes sense? Is this normal?
  2. Sasquatch

Sasquatch Sales Account

Jul 15, 2009

If you can manage to exhale the smoke through your nose once in awhile, this effect is increased.

Lots of people make the mistake of sticking their tongue to the end of the pipe and assuming that it's the best way to get the flavor, but all it leads to is a burnt tongue. If you can get to where you are sipping the smoke and enjoying it for what it is, then you have gone up a notch on the pipe smoking journey ladder.
  3. phinz

phinz Active Member

Jan 9, 2010
    You should come out to Leaf and Ale on Thursday night. It's pipe club time! Last time we had about 10 people, give or take.