1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.
  2. If you cannot verify your email address or recover your password, you need to call your ISP and tell them to stop blocking your email from this site.
    Dismiss Notice

The Changing Direction Of My Collection

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by NeverKnowsBest, Apr 5, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NeverKnowsBest

NeverKnowsBest Member

Apr 3, 2013
    When I started collecting pipes, before I worked at Smokers' Haven, I wanted pipes that were good smokers and classically styled. I needed pipes purely out of smoking necessity to give my first few pipes a rest. I naturally gravitated to estate pipes and coincidentally, I had built a small stable of Comoy pipes. I told people I was a Comoy collector. I studied the brand's history a lot, compared shapes, and spited Neill Roan (another Comoy collector) with a choice purchase or two. I started buying Comoy pipes that I didn't really care for other than maybe they had an ivory "C" or said "Blue Riband" or something on the side.

Then I got a pipe made by my co-worker Bill Shalosky. It quickly became my favorite pipe. Then I got a pipe made by my friend Joe Nelson (Old Nellie Pipes). I got a Nate King made pipe. Deniz Ural sold me on a Baki. Then I got a pipe by local Chuck Sands (R.C. Sands Pipes), and hopefully another one this weekend after he uses our sandblaster. I realized I liked all of these pipes better than any of my Comoy pipes, probably because the connection with the artisans, my friends, means quite a bit more to me than the historical value of the Comoy pipes.