1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.

The Purpose of This Is To?

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by rondel65, Apr 28, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rondel65

rondel65 Misplaces Lighters

My dad went through a pipe smoking phase in the early to mid 70's. He gave me his pipes a couple of years ago and this was one that I had repaired. It's a meer lined Weber with ?? sticking out of the tenon. Does this ?? cool/regulate the smoke? I have one other pipe from his collection that has the same thing. This is a very good smoker! Are pipes still made with this? View attachment 1206 photo.jpg

Preacher1611 and dBear like this.
  2. Summit

Summit Live Simply.

It is called a Stinger. It is supposed to collect moisture and give you a dry smoke. I have no experience with it but a lot of people cut them off.

3. User3940

User3940 Active Member

Stingers are an odd thing. Some of us prefer them, some of can't wait to get rid of em. Personally I like an open airway and remove the stinger. Some just screw out of the bit, others have to be cut at the tip as the bit screws into the shank, i.e. Kaywoodies. Yours appears like it can be easily removed by either pulling it out or unscrewing it, as the bit on yours just slides into the shank.

Smoke the pipe with the stinger in and see what you think. If you don't like it, remove it, smoke the pipe again and see the difference. You'll know what to do from that point.

4. rondel65

Thanks for the info. "Stinger" is a good name for it. As long as I can pass a cleaner through it I'll leave it in. I've been smoking it all this time with no problems. This Weber is a very good smoker and one on my more dependable pipes.

Preacher1611, Summit and User3940 like this.
  5. lifeon2

lifeon2 Member

That particular stinger is also supposed to double as a pipe tool.

6. mongo

mongo Active Member

How so? I've never heard of that before.

7. Russell Hartman