Building up your tobacco collection

Discussion in 'Need Pipe Smoking Advice? Ask an Old Fart!' started by Cristos, Jan 5, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cristos

Cristos Member

Hello again, ladies and gentlemen!

So, this is my first official post aside from my introducing myself to the forum. As I said in my first post, I have been smoking pipes off and on for about 7 years now, but I have only recently been doing some serious research on various blends and, more specifically, building up a cellar of tobacco that would essentially be self replenishing. I know that most of you hardcore collectors out there have an impressive collection of your favorite tobaccos that I am sure has taken many years to build up. My question is, what is the best way for someone wanting to start a cellar to get the ball rolling? I know some suggest that when you order new tins or bulk, to order twice what you want, cellar half, and then smoke half. Or, is it better to just bite the bullet, spend a large sum of money, and order a huge quantity of tobacco once and then just replenish with small orders later on? Keep in mind that I'm a broke college student on a rather tight budget and want the most bang for my buck. I apologize in advance if I am beating a dead horse here, but it seems like the more I read and research, the more my head begins to swirl. I'm still experimenting with all the different types of blends out there, trying to decide what's best for my palate, and in the meantime I want to make sure that I'm keeping the blends that I've already discovered well stocked. Please help a guy out!

Thanks in advance,

Cristos

Gothicmace likes this.

2. bubbagump

bubbagump Well-Known Member