1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.

Calabash Questions

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by OrganizdMadman, Dec 19, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. OrganizdMadman

OrganizdMadman Member

I'm really enjoying my early Christmas calabash, it's a wood model from Altinok, not gourd, and I've got a few questions about maintenance, so prepare for some stupid questions !
    I've searched through the forums and read a lot of good info, but it all seems to be mainly for the gourd variety. You guys mention using alcohol to rinse the inside, but I'm afraid that might dry out the wood. Another thing is that the inside is a little rough: [​IMG]
    Should I be concerned about this? Also I've smoked a few bowls over the past few days, and wiped the bowl after I'm done, I'm new to meers, but there's a lot more build up than I expected: [​IMG]
    I hate to ask such a newb question but is that normal? I figured they didn't just wipe clean like Teflon, but still.
    Also is the the discoloration around the outside the result of its gradual coloring, or did I inadvertently char the rim a bit? [​IMG]

2. Hawkwood

Hawkwood Member

That's a splendid looking 'bash. All appears well to me, it takes a lot of puffing before any internal cleaning is needed and when the time comes a little Vodka on a toothbrush should do the trick. As for the bowl it will colour, just maintain the cake/smoke hole similar to how you would in a briar. Calabashes really are a great smoke, perfect "house pipe".

3. Ehrgeiz

Ehrgeiz Member