1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.

Charatan Confusion

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by Dottle_Dan, Sep 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dottle_Dan

Dottle_Dan Member

Hey everyone,

I have been smoking pipes for a few years, but just started collecting them. I have been lucky enough to find a few Lane Charatan's at local antique shops and am a little bit confused with the grading of them. I have a charatan belvedere that is absolutely beautiful The grain has lots of birdseye on the sides, big bowl and is almost like 3d in spots. I also have an Extra Large Selected that has a good straight grain with birdseye at the bottom of it, but no where as near as cool looking as the belvedere. Am I missing something? Or, is it that the straighter grain is considered a much better grade of pipe? Here is a quick picture of the Belvedere:

[​IMG]

JimInks likes this.

2. WAMPipe13

WAMPipe13 Member

Nice looking Pipe that is. Beautiful birds eye.

3. dmkerr

dmkerr PG- free since '83! Moderator

Charatan grading from the Lane period (going off memory - I may be missing a few):

The general sandblasts were at the bottom... unless they had a fancy colored mount and they got the After Hours designation. Then they climbed a bit.

Perfections were next. Smooth with a walnut finish.

Belvederes third. Burgundy finish. Your pipe has some nice grain but it should also have some bald spots in order to get this designation. Does it?

Specials. Natural finish.

Executives. Different colored finishes - large pipes - some minor freehand shapes.

Selected. These were often very large pipes. I had a Giant Bent selected years ago. Various finishes but essentially excellent wood with good grain coverage, if not necessarily straight, flame or birds eye.

Supreme. Killer grain, usually natural finishes, larger pipes (but not always). A pipe you'd want to exhibit.