China pipes

Discussion in 'The Smoking Lounge' started by F1guy, Oct 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. F1guy

F1guy Member

So I threw $3.50 total (shipping included) for three of these "China" corncob pipes. Though I am new to the pipe smoking thing, I do know that MM makes the best cobs. That said, for $3.50, I said why not? I was shocked at how bad they were.

[​IMG]
    Here's the bowl on one of them. Looks unfinished.

[​IMG]
    The three that I bought. Note the inconsistency on where the hole was drilled

[​IMG]
    Looked these guys up. Found nothing at all.

[​IMG]
    An MM mini is the smaller pipe.

Trauma likes this.

2. F1guy

F1guy Member

The bottom line is, I have many MM pipes. I won't be smoking these, but I thought it was interesting anyway. Also, the bowls arent coated with ANYTHING at all.

3. Tony Malerich

Tony Malerich Active Member

I guess it doesn't hurt much to have at least given it a shot. Lesson learned, though!

4. MeerSteve

MeerSteve Member

I would never use a china pipe no matter how it looked. China is well known for using dirty, or contaminated equipment in manufacturing, you can look it up online. Who knows what chemicals were used on those pipes, or even if the equipment to cut them was even clean. Those belong in the trash can.

Stonewall and RTOdhner like this.
  5. jpberg

jpberg Moderator Moderator

So Steve, you don't use any products from China?

6. F1guy

F1guy Member

While I won't toss them, I will use them for a youtube video I'm planning. I think that their low-quality speaks to my audience, and I think that it'll persuade anyone from buying them.

will and jpberg like this.
  7. aieeegrunt

aieeegrunt Member