Classic B&M Stores

Status
Not open for further replies.

NDLanoue

As this is my first post, I guess I should at least introduce myself. I'm a college student in Virginia, have been smoking pipes for just over a year and smoked cigars before that. Like most 'new' pipe smokers, I'm a big fan of aromatics, but I'm looking to expand my horizons. I've been following the forum for a while now, though, and decided now would be a great time to post.

I was thinking, especially after having read SBritton's 'Contest' thread, that we should have a thread for classic B&M stores. I'm thinking more along the lines of Boswell's and stores like that: Top-notch, well-run stores, perhaps that have their own blends, and that are just great all around tobacconists. With members all over the place, it'd be nice to have a running list of stores for which other members can vouch.

In my area is Milan Tobacconists. I've been a customer there for over two years and it is well worth the hour-long drive to get there. The proprietary blends of tobacco are all mixed in house, and the family that owns the store are just wonderful people and really know their tobacco.

If this has been done before, let me know. I searched and couldn't find anything.

So, who's good in your area?

Mister Moo

Gone but not forgotten
Staff member
Welcome.

My area - Pipes By George, Hillsborough St., Raleigh, NC.

Not my area, but Edwards Pipe & Cigar, San Marco/Jacksonville, FL - quite nice. Ask for Dino.

jvande7

In my area (Chicago, IL), the place to be is Iwan Ries.

www.IwanRies.com

Their site is a little rough around the edges, but their selection and eagerness to please is 2nd to none. I can literally walk in here 6 days a week and find just about ANY pipe tobacco. They also have 15,000+ pipes in stock, and one of the most badass smokers lounges imaginable-

http://www.iwanries.com/the-front-room-chicagos-premier-smoking-lounge.cfm

:eek::eek::eek: