1. Unique, Original Reviews Only

Please do not post reviews from other websites. Reviews found posted on other sites will be deleted.
    Dismiss Notice

Dunhill Early Morning Pipe - A Noob's Perspective

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco Reviews' started by Husayn, Nov 13, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Husayn

Husayn Member

Greetings all,

I did see a thread dedicated to a review of DH EMP already, but thought it might be necessary to keep them separate, as this is a complete newbie's perspective and analysis - not wishing to taint the other review, which is one of the reasons inspiring me to purchase this tin!

Quick bit of background, I am new to pipe smoking. New, as in last night was the first time in perhaps 10 years I've lit up a pipe - and 10 years ago I didn't have a clue what I was doing also! I do however, have about 10 years cigar smoking under my belt, so I have a little bit of an understanding on detecting flavours and whatnot. Technique however, completely different!

So, yesterday afternoon, I christened my MM CG with about 3/4 of a bowl of EMP, before beginning my baking shift. Here are my thoughts:

EMP is like that beautiful, simple girl you fell in love with. From the moment you first sat down with her, you never wanted it to end. Time passed and you didn't notice, people came and went and you didn't care - just you and her. No need to spend too much time and effort thinking, pondering and trying to work out the characteristics of this girl, just pure, soft, subtle sweetness - innocent like.
    It's hard to describe the taste that I was getting, at most times it seemed almost chicory root like, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Sometimes it gave off toasty notes, which were delicious. At others, it gave off somewhat floral notes - akin to the first ever H.Upmann Coronas Minor I ever smoked - simply delicious.