1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.

Dunhill pipes

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by MakDragon, Jan 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MakDragon

MakDragon Wizard of PSF

I was searching for a new pipe and my nostalgia part of me would like to get a British made pipe for my collection. I've been reading about the history etc of Dunhills and proceded to looke for one when a local tobacco store owner said their quality is not what it used to be. Does anyone have any opinions on this matter? Thank you from a newbie here on the boards.

2. beeftip

beeftip Member

Does it have to be new or will an estate fit the bill? I have a couple of Dunhill's from the early '60's and they're pretty decent smokers. They were also much cheaper than new by at least a third of the price.

I think where most people get hung up is on the price/value ratio on the new Dunhill pipes, especially when considering what you can buy in the way of an single artisan handmade pipe at the same price point.

Have you looked at the new Ashton pipes being produced by Jim Craig? They seem to be very well made as well as British.

3. t-bear

t-bear Active Member

Older Dunhills are very well made pipes, though for my money, over-priced. The new ones are no longer made by Dunhill...the brand divested itself of everything tobacco related some years back. I'm not even sure who makes them now, but quality seems to have suffered from this. I've read of people with new dunnies with fills and mis-drilled drafts. If you MUST have a Dunhill, I would suggest you look at the estate market.
    Myself, I would spend my money on a good North American Artisan pipe.

4. MakDragon

MakDragon Wizard of PSF

Thank you all. I shall continue my quest!

5. StevenEC

StevenEC Member