Edward G. Robinson Blend?...

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by Coda, Jul 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Coda

Coda Well-Known Member

I am a history student. This fall, I am partaking in an independent study called "Civil War and Reconstruction." My summer assignment (mostly self assigned) is to read as much as possible on the Civil War, so that I am capable of getting the most out of the class. A few months ago, before I even knew about the class, I watched the great documentary "The Civil War" by Ken Burns. One of the historians featured in the documentary was Shelby Foote. He is the highlight of the documentary for me. The way he speaks about the Civil War is incredibly. Anyway, he has a 3 part series called "The Civil War: A Narrative." I am currently reading the first book. So, I decided to look up some videos of Mr. Foote, with the desire to see if anyone had taken all of his clips from the Ken Burns doc, and made one, long, glorious video. What I found was an interview, during which Shelby Foote pulls out his pipe and lights up. After a bit of research, I found that he smoked "Edward G. Robinson" Blend, by Sutliffe Tobacco Company. Its a lot of cavindish.

I was just wondering if anyone had ever smoked it before? I am not a fan of cavindish heavy blends, but seeing how Shelby Foote smoked it, I wouldnt mind trying it. I dont think is available any more though.

Now, to make this a little more discussionable, have you ever tried or bought a tobacco because someone you admire smoked it? I bought a tin of R-blend because of Einstein...

What say you?...

YAPPG likes this.

2. RTOdhner

RTOdhner Well-Known Member