Either tobacco changed or I did

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by shardy53, Jan 9, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shardy53

shardy53 Member

I stated before that I am new to pipes again after not smoking a pipe since 1971 or 72. I used to smoke Mixture 79 and Middleton's Cherry Blend exclusively. (They were pretty hot sellers back then) I tried them again recently and the Cherry Blend is awful tasting to me now and the Mix 79 bites so bad I couldn't even finish a full bowlful on three occasions. Something must have changed for them to be that bad now and I don't think it was me.

Also I used to smoke a MM and Dr Grabo filtered pipe quite often and I can remember the filters lasting a lot longer than in the past. These medico filters crap out really quick now, like two or three smokes and they are totally shot.

MAINE CODGER likes this.

2. Coda

Coda Well-Known Member

Well, I would say that both are true. Your personal tastes probably have changed. At the same time, Im sure the tobaccos have changed as well. Tobacco is an organic material, and is not always the same. As for filters, I reckon that follows the rule of Planned Obsolescence: if they ware out quicker, then they need to be replaced sooner, which means more product sold, and more money made. Its the same way with appliances, computers, cars, and pretty much every other manufactured good...

gd9704 and Ephraim like this.
  3. Arkie

Arkie Well-Known Member

I suspect the blending houses are treating tobacco with more propylene glycol (PG) than they used to. Although there is some disagreement about whether PG affects taste, I think if you were to do a side-by-side comparison of tobacco with & without PG you would notice the difference. Also, there is no doubt in my mind that the PG makes tobacco more goopy and shortens the life of filters.

4. dmkerr

dmkerr PG- free since '83! Moderator