Fast & wet smoker

Discussion in 'Need Pipe Smoking Advice? Ask an Old Fart!' started by Raffxr7, Jul 31, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Raffxr7

Raffxr7 Active Member

I smoke too fast, working on pace to fix that-my favorite pipe is a recent estate purchase & has very thin walls (1/8") so I notice the heat faster and slow down earlier. I can't seem to overcome the salivation issue though. Should I pack the bowl looser to adjust for temperature? What can be done to help with smoking wet?

2. nesta

nesta Well-Known Member

A big part of it just comes with time. For some it takes longer than others - it took me a while to get used to both, and hey I'm still learning! Slow and steady :)

3. Tony Malerich

Tony Malerich Active Member

Slowing down should help you tremendously. On the recommendation of another here, I've tried puffing into the pipe gently when you get a little gurgle -- the idea is to force some of the moisture up to the heat so it will evaporate. Don't overdo or you'll get things just as hot, but it can help occasionally. Also never hesitate to run a pipe cleaner through the pipe while you're smoking. Particularly if you have a bent, it might not want to go all the way in, but just tip the pipe back so some of the moisture runs into the stem where you can swab it and you should be good.

Raffxr7 likes this.
  4. Snake

Snake permanent ankle biter

I'd recommend slowing down (which you already know),
    passing a cleaner as Tony mentioned, and try drying out
    the toby more.

5. Professor

Professor Active Member

^ +1

6. cobbsmoker

cobbsmoker Active Member

Usually as you smoke down the bowl the heat from the smoke will evaporate moisture as it goes for a dry smoke unless you are smoking to fast producing more moisture than be evaporated as you smoke.

7. Raffxr7

Raffxr7 Active Member

Thank you all! :)

8. CMAsailor

CMAsailor Active Member