First smoke after salt treatment- Whoa!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well I have been smoking some of my pipes since 1994 and some of them had been used before I got them. I always cleaned the stems with 91% alcohol when I got a used pipe and after a few months of smoking them and I run a pipe cleaner through my pipe after every smoke. I had never cleaned the bowl in all this time.. I didn't really notice the sour taste as I guess I had gotten used to it. I decided to do the salt treatment on all my briar pipes a week ago.... I did one treatment on all and repeated it on two of them... I waited 5 days to let them dry out completely before smoking them again.. I had my meerschaum's during that time to hold me over... I just finished my first smoke through my second hand Sasieni .... what a smoke.... I tasted the tobacco for the first time in quite awhile.... the amazing thing was how sweet the pipe smelled after the treatment and before I smoked it.... it just had a really sweet smell instead of the sour putrid pond scum smell I had grown accustomed to.
I cant recommend the salt treatment enough! What a difference it made in my pipes. I truly enjoyed my smoke tonight as never before... this will become a regular thing for my pipes after every few months of smoking them. I am just amazed at the sweet taste and smoke I just had.

Mister Moo

Gone but not forgotten
Staff member
Some say that salt/booze can crack a pipe and "they" recommend cotton balls in place of salt. I've salted and boozed a lot of pipes and they all come out sweet and clean smelling after 24-hours. I think Everclear (or 91% isopropyl alcohol) has so little water in it there's too little water to swell up briar and initiate a crack. The FAQs advise coarse kosher salt; not sure what iodine in salt does to briar, if anything, but I always use kosher salt for pipes.