getting even lighting..

Discussion in 'Need Pipe Smoking Advice? Ask an Old Fart!' started by sonsw87, May 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sonsw87

sonsw87 Member

I was wondering whats a good way to get good even lighting. I circle my lighter/match when im lighting but after few puffs the ember only shows on part of my bowl... Is this because my tobacco isn't lit up properly? or some other reason? any tips on lighting properly?

2. Gandalf

Gandalf Member

I am by far a pro at this, but I found I was having the same issue and learned through trial and error that i was packing my baccy a little to tightly. Don’t cram it in your bowl, sprinkle it in until it crowns and gently mash it down and repeat this about 3 times or until the bowl has filled to the rim, you should have little to no resistance when you pull through the stem. As I said, I'm no expert and may be way off, but it worked for me... Happy smoking and good luck... "D" :bing:

3. cobbsmoker

cobbsmoker Active Member

Sometimes you may need to char the top a couple of times before you tap and light, use a soft flame and slow draw to char and light your pipe bowl.

Pschoppy48, WyoBob and dwaugh like this.
  4. sonsw87

sonsw87 Member

This is my amazing drawing of the different kinds of ember I see in my bowl..
    [​IMG]

The first one i see right after i light. Second after few mins of puffing.. and last one i usually see after relights in the mid bowl..

MrJarvis, Marker and dwaugh like this.
  5. sonsw87

sonsw87 Member

Hope my perfect drawings help you understand my situation.. They are so good... maybe I should have went to art school... oh wait i did...:bdance:

Ted Vig and dwaugh like this.
  6. dwaugh

dwaugh Moderator Moderator

I can't help, I know you are "supposed to" have the big even ember that burns down to the bottom..... that never happens for me. I get all the things going on in your pictograms.

7. Brian

Brian Member