1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.

Help selecting a pipe specifically for flake tobacco......

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by Steelman, Jun 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Steelman

Steelman New Member

I'm a newbie to pipe smoking, and I can finally smoke my English blends without much difficulty. I now want to make the leap to flake tobacco (specifically VA flake) and I want to purchase a pipe dedicated to this task. I generally smoke large sized Savinelli pipes, but my understanding is that large bowls do not necessarily provide an ideal home for the "fold & stuff" method preferred by flake smokers.

I was considering a Castello Lovat for this specific smoking journey....I'd appreciate any thoughts & suggestions. Some have told me to buy a "chimney" bowl specifically for flake tobacco...but I'd thought I'd use this opportunity as my first post. I've been reading this forum for self-education and I congratulate the members here for a job well done.

Thanks in advance for helping a newbie.

Regards,
    Ron

2. Spillproof

Spillproof Mostly Harmless Moderator

I smoke a lot of flake. I have a few "Va-only" pipes, but the shapes are all over the map. I used to swear by a big-thick bowl (often rusticated) for flakes but have loosened my hold on that assumption.

I recently picked up a Stanwell "pot" shape. It is really a remarkable little flake cooker as it's a short bowl with great thickness all around. Another good option, imho is a brandy. Another would be 1/8 - 1/4 bent galleon. Bulldogs are great flake smokers.... I don't have a Costello Lovat but that sounds like a GREAT flake smoker. What was my point again?

Oh yeah, get one you like.

3. Monkey

Monkey Active Member

I smoke mostly Savinellis and the only one too big for a fold and stuff is the KS Baronet Bryeure (I think I spelled that wrong) but I'm a rebel and smoke flakes in it anyway.

Jammer and Spillproof like this.