1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.

Help with a Peterson

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by Gotzskillz, Mar 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gotzskillz

Gotzskillz Member

I just recently bought a peterson rocky donegal estate pipe off ebay and have a question about it. As with any estate, the first thing i did was started to clean it. When i removed the stem i noticed it was a system pipe. Now what has me questioning is the stem. Ive noticed on some pipes there is a piece the protrudes into the system and ive noticed some that dont. The stem of my pipe has a little circular thing that piece that looks like it may have been longer and went into the pipe, but it looks like it was cut off. I was wondering if anyone could help me out? sorry if i incorrectly word anything, im a pipe noob. pictures attached.[​IMG][​IMG]

2. YOJiMBO20

YOJiMBO20 Member

I don't believe that the Donegal Rocky is a system series. It might just have a very deep mortise to accommodate such a deep bend. I have a Pete B10, which doesn't come as a system pipe, and it has a deep mortise for the bend. Also, looking at the tenon, it appears to be a standard push-pull tenon instead of a military type found on system pipes.

So in short: not a system pipe, stem doesn't appear to be altered.

Also, change out that salt. It's time.

3. Gotzskillz

Gotzskillz Member

Thanks for the info and ill be changing the salt shortly. Its been sitting since 6-7 last night. The reason i thought it was a system is because it looks to be drilled like a system pipe. Also im not sure of the actual model. here is a picture of the mortise just to make sure:[​IMG]

4. YOJiMBO20

YOJiMBO20 Member

What does it say on the side? It might actually be a system with a mortise that deep.

5. Gotzskillz

Gotzskillz Member

Its pretty worn and from what i can tell, it does say donegal rocky 221s.

6. Old Codger

Old Codger Active Member