I graduated!

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by Twan013, Jul 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Twan013

Twan013 Member

Got my first taste of a real tobacco tonight. I went for FVF. very... interesting. I wanted to try the fold and stuff method, which was a mistake. it was hard to light, but whatever.

I can't say that I'm a fan, but i can see myself getting used to it and enjoying it down the road. the tonguebite compared to that of my middleton's apple was much more harsh, like getting a tattoo on the end of my tongue, but it was gone in a couple of minutes. the MA wasn't as rough, but it lasted a lot longer, no matter what i did to ease the pain.

also tried a bit of 5110 from McC. didn't initially like the smell, but its overpowering all of my new tobacco in my room, and its getting to me.. 'bout to fill up another bowl and puff away under the stars again.. Or maybe not, my chair broke last night so i can't get comfy outside anymore..

2. Sasquatch

Sasquatch Sales Account

IF you dry out the flakes, either FVF or the McClelland, and rub them out and beat the hell out of them, they won't burn you near so much. Flakes hold more moisture than it feels like, and Gawith tobaccos are always too wet.

If you dry them out, you'll be able to smoke them with way less heat = way less tongue bite.

3. Deckard

Deckard Active Member

It sounds like you were just puffing too damn hard. If you slow down and draw on the pipe softer FVF won't bite you and will reward you with a nice natural sweetness. I know its kind of hard to do with the stiff draw of the fold and stuff method so try rubbing it out. I've never been able to make the fold and stuff work for me so I use the cannonball for all my flakes.

4. jpberg

jpberg Moderator Moderator