1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.

I now own a briar pipe

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by s1mp13m4n, Oct 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. s1mp13m4n

s1mp13m4n Member

I am rather new to pipe smoking and have been smoking a MM corn cob pipe to learn with. Through this forum I was sent three very nice briar pipes, for which I am very thankful and also excited. I am looking forward to learning how to care for and maintain these pipes, while also enjoying smoking them. I am reading up on how to break in a briar pipe as this is new to me. I am open to any advice or links you can give me to care for, clean, break in, and enjoy these new to me pipes.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Whalehead King

Whalehead King Active Member

They're beautiful pipes. Unfortunately, as first responder, I'm not the person to ask how to take care of them. My next thread was going to be about how much a negligent pipe can expect from his bad habits. Good luck and listen to the experts. I don't think you can do too much damage if you don't follow the letter of the law though. These are some beauties that deserve respect rather than my knockabouts.

Cheers,
    WK

3. Unforgivin

Unforgivin Active Member

If you've been "cobbing" then you already have the basic idea.
    Take your time, have fun, and don't try to learn everything at once.

I've gotten into a routine where I clean each pipe after each smoke. Some say that's good, some say it's overkill. I do it because I have the time to do it, plus I tend to be a little anal when it comes to taking care of my stuff. Put together something that works for you. Take your time and enjoy the ride. :cheers:

4. WillH

WillH Active Member

Paul,

Are those pipes new - as in unsmoked? If they have been smoked you're home free and they shouldn't need much breaking in - if any! Just load and go!

Looks like you made a nice haul - enjoy!

will

5. s1mp13m4n

s1mp13m4n Member