I want to learn more.

Discussion in 'The Smoking Lounge' started by Greatwall, Nov 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Greatwall

Greatwall Member

I am still new to pipe new to pipe smoking and I find all aspects of it fascinating. I have been looking for information online such as the kinds of tobaccos and the different pipes styles, shapes, materials. Does anyone know of a good resource for learning more about pipes? Books, websites or good magazines would be helpful.

2. Calvinandpipe

Calvinandpipe Member

This forum is a good start.;)

Capt likes this.
  3. Greatwall

Greatwall Member

Oh, hello Captain Obvious, I did not see you there.

Spillproof, Mington and Calvinandpipe like this.
  4. Capt

Capt Active Member

Best resource is personal experience. Get invloved with trades, buy what ya can-when ya can. Research Tobacco Reviews to find new blends that may excite you. If you see something you would like to try, I will bet there is a 99.99999% chance one of us here has it, and will be willing to send you out a sample.

As far as pipes go, I really do not do much research about how they are made, but many here can help you with that.

Kiowapipe and Mington like this.
  5. Greatwall

Greatwall Member

There are soo many tobaccos I want to try like frog morton, 1Q, Hobbits weed, and many others. I really wish I had a local Tobacconist so I can bask in the smokey wisdom.

6. Goat

Goat Active Member

Ya never know. Maybe your Secret Santa will send you a nice sampler package. ;)

Mington likes this.
  7. Greatwall

Greatwall Member

That would be great.

8. Stonewall

Stonewall Active Member

Pipe Smoking Forums (such as this one and others)
    Pipedia
    Tobaccoreviews.com
    The Professor's Pipe Page

9. IrishRover

IrishRover Active Member

+1 on tobaccoreviews.com, that site helped along with Pipedia. I also read Pipes and Tobacco Magazine. All of those were my main resources for information, including the forums.