1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.

In praise of that 'system' - and 'P' lip.

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by Old Ted, Jun 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Old Ted

Old Ted Active Member

I know it's 'old hat', and at the risk of 'singing to the choir' - a few words on that old Irish 'institution' - the Peterson. As I've mentioned elsewhere, I'm eagerly anticipating a top-notch Pete for my birthday early in July, and the 'estate manager' has put in the order (I hope!). I have no real experience of these 'Olde Worlde' bents - with 'P' lip, so at the B&M last week, I picked up one of the cheap entry-level rustic '305s' with the idea of getting in a little practice with the marque.

I've been smoking this little Pete all weekend - can't put it down!, and after two or three bowls it was smoking like a veteran, no problems or badness at all!. That 'P' lip suits me down to the ground, dangles from my diminishing tooth stock with ease, and comfort! - and no tongue bite when drawing hard to start up!....got to be great value for money here. I now have great expectations of my impending premium model!....I'm sold on the system - and can't understand why folks have issues with that m/piece?. Trouble is I now expect a bad attack of PPAD (go figure!):)
    Happy Sunday! OT

2. TheKiltedOne

TheKiltedOne Active Member

I've been looking at a Peterson for a while, I'm planning on treating myself for my birthday if I can find one for a Good price

3. Puff The Magic

Puff The Magic Active Member

Yep Dave, PPAD (as in Peterson PAD) is a wonderfully terrible thing! :D

The p-lip is very controversial among pipers. Love-Hate sort of situation. I like 'em but gotta watch out getting carried away with drawing and puffing too hard, it'll scorch the roof of your mouth. Tongue is smiling all the way but the roof gets a mild burn like if you ate hot melted cheese (pizza).