1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.

Is a Kaywoodie pipe high quality?

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by Raffxr7, Jul 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Raffxr7

Raffxr7 Active Member

I ran across a kaywoodie in a horn shape, straight stem-it's in good shape overall but has more cake than I prefer, but not more than I can take care of in about an hour. It's priced reasonably, but not rock bottom priced either. I'm getting too use to my $5 bargains, but they are also usually a drugstore brand (willard (a trio, and my favorites), royal house LTD (my big evening pipe), no name seconds, etc) I was recommended to get a peterson, but I'm still learning what's worth buying for myself and what's worth restoring and giving to a friend as a starter pipe.

So, Kaywoodie... what is your opinion of them?

2. Pschoppy48

Pschoppy48 Member

My understanding is that the older (pre-1960) ones are very good quality, but they are many people who enjoy all the Kaywoodies. I have a pre-1970 one and it is a good smoker.

3. jpberg

jpberg Moderator Moderator

Does the pipe have a stinger, or push tenon? If it has a stinger, how many holes are in the stinger? What color is the clover, and what markings are on the pipe?

4. nesta

nesta Well-Known Member

It totally depends on the price. 15 dollars or under, place a bid. They are budget pipes if produced recently, but they have a reputation for smoking well. The older the models were priced (in those days) equal to any higher end pipes on the market, up there with Dunhills. A good Kaywoodie will smoke like a dream, and if you're only spending a few bucks on them then the gamble is worthwhile. If they are over 20 dollars and you only know that it's a Kaywoodie and have nothing else to go on, it's not worth bidding on.