Local Shop Policy Change

Discussion in 'The Smoking Lounge' started by Stinger4me, Mar 11, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Stinger4me

Stinger4me Member

Stopped in at the local pipe shop to pick up some aromatic tobacco. Up until now they have been very good about providing a free bowl of tobacco. I was always reminded to bring in a pipe and get a sample of tobacco. On the day of my purchase I packed up my MM with a sample. While paying for my purchase I was told of the change in policy. NO MORE FREE SAMPLE BOWLS OF TOBACCO. I have been smoking a pipe for forty years and this is the first time I have seen this happen. Is this a new trend in pipe shops? They told me prices have gone up so much they can no longer afford to give any samples. What do the forum members think. Thanks for responding.

2. Tate

Tate Member

A lot of these local guys are under duress. The laws, the public, and the public are all against these dudes. If they have to stop giving away stuff to save a buck when it really counts then I wouldn't hold it against them. The brick and mortar tobacconist is like a dying breed. If they want to survive they're going to have to save money and change from sales of tobacco to an experience based business.

dBear, Old Codger and Stonewall like this.
  3. bubbagump

bubbagump Sales Account

That's a sign of the times. It's pretty rare to get anything for free these days. I have to question the decision to stop doing that after all those years though. It would probably be smarter to eat the cost of a few bowls of tobacco then risk alienating loyal customers. You've got to do what you've got to do though.

That and something tells me that people were abusing that policy. Do they have a lounge? If so..."Free samples" might have led to people hanging out, trying "free samples," and rarely buying anything. Just my $.02...

rondel65, MikeInMaine, Jussto and 4 others like this.
  4. Arkie

Arkie Well-Known Member