1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.

Looking for a churchwarden

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by Greatwall, Nov 20, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Greatwall

Greatwall Member

I am still new to the pipe world and I need a bit of assistance. I want to get a new pipe and I have decided to get a churchwarden and I need a suggestion. I don't have easy access to a quality B&M pipe shop so I can't go out and put my hands on a selection of quality pipes. If you know of a place near southeastern Washington that has a good selection of pipes let me know. If you or someone you know makes churchwardens I would be very interested in commissioning a new pipe. Or if you have any other ideas please let me know them also. I have decided to put some time and effort into finding the right pipe and not just settle for something. Let me know your thoughts.

2. Skiballa

Skiballa Member

What kind of price range are you looking at?

N3M0 likes this.
  3. Professor

Professor Active Member

...and what kind of material? Meer, Briar or cob?

N3M0 likes this.
  4. Tony Malerich

Tony Malerich Active Member

On the briar end, I have both a Stanwell and Peterson CW and they're both fine smokes. Doug (DGErwin) occasionally has modified cobwardens on his Etsy shop and he always does fine work. I also love my IMP meerschaum CW. These run from about $30ish for the cob, $50-$120 for the briars (depending on the line and wether new or estate) and over $120 for a quality new meer. You're probably more likely to find a Pete or Stanwell (especially the Hans Christian Anderson line) at the B&M.

5. Spillproof

Spillproof Mostly Harmless Moderator

Churchwardens are great, on occasion.