mandatory stupid question

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by loaf, Jul 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. loaf

loaf Member

As a pipe virgin, i have some basic questions I feel urged to ask before i spend any hard earned (hard loaned actually, I'm a student)

Question the first: pipes. Are these £30 starter kits with pipe, filters, cleaners and tools worth the cash, or a false economy? am I better off buying higher quality gear individually?

Question the second: tobacco. the prevailing advice seems to be "try a bunch and see what sticks", but I'm poor, limited in funds, and only an occasional smoker. looking for some tobacco that's inexpensive, not too strong and easy to light, also, I've heard that "cake" tobacco is better for us forced to smoke outside (UK laws and mean landlord) as it doesn't blow out as easily.

Question the third: the smell, we all love the smell of tobacco, but the acrid smell of cigarette smoke on clothing is nasty, will pipe smoking have the same result?

I would appreciate any advice, links etc.

by the way, links to shops Online are only any good to me if they ship to the UK.

thanks for any advice you can share, i look forward to becoming a pipe smoker and taking an active part in the forum. :whistle:

2. jpberg

jpberg Moderator Moderator

Why not give Greens of Leeds a call when you are ready to buy some tobacco? By all accounts they are good people to deal with, and can probably help you with pipe selection as well. Let us know how you are progressing.

3. BradNTX

BradNTX Well-Known Member

Not sure about the kit you are mentioning. A link or pic might help. The best budget pipes are a quality cob, like a Missouri Meerschaum or purchase an estate pipe in good condition. I would avoid a pipe made from any other wood than briar.