Mentor - Please

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by Mickeyfin, Nov 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mickeyfin

Mickeyfin Member

I am a humbled Newbie to this site.....I am however someone who has enjoyed smoking on and off since the ripe old age of 13 now approaching 60's...I started a pipe at 13 with help from a wonderful Irishman who took me under his wing,,,he gave me some old pipes and sent me off with his mixture which was Erinmore Flake and for the life of me I can't remember...well that worked for a bit then cigarrettes for 20 years and cigars with intervals (I'am dating myself) of on and off store bought pouches of Borkum Riff (sp?), Sail, Cherry Blend, Carter Hall, Mixture "99"...and that was it. Pipe smoking was my favorite but never fully developed an appreciation for all the different types of blends out there and cig's were much quicker and easier. I think what I need now that I have been starting to smoke pipes more but pretty much sticking to my "selections" not having branched out, is time to look for a mentor.....Think about it....when you want to learn a sport, subject or whatever you have a coach one person that provides direction. If there has ever been an instance where I need to be taken under a "wing" it is now...all the possibilities and not knowing the individual "characteristics" of the options outside of everyone's perceptions...is like..yes...finding your way similar to a deer stuck in headlights. Anyone who says differently is playing with you...I need a coach and from what I have seen and other sites I have been to this is the place to find one...maybe this could be the begining of a new trend at PSF because to be quite frank its all to overwhelming.....I can offer, that sweet aromatics don't do it for me...light ones however are ok...I like PS Luxury Navy Flake...I also like latikia...which means ? for options?...this is where I need a coach to throw a couple at me first to try and to then guide me from