New pipe smoker needs advise on this pipe.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I just bought this pipe on ebay for $11.00.
It is a SAVINELLI EXTRA 803 KS.

I am retired, and live on very little Soc. Sec., so I went cheap, just to see if I like smoking a pipe.

I guess the best for me to do is to just post pictures and ask for advise from what you see such as:

Should I ream the bowl?
how does the pipe look for such a cheap price?
etc.
I know absolutely nothing about pipes, so any advise you may have on what you see please let me know.

(Cannot post pics, here is the link: )

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=350308742359&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT

Thanks.

Sweatsack

Newbie here, too, but just to give you something to think about until someone who knows what they're talking about can respond...

Savs are pretty good smokers and I wouldn't hesitate to pay $11 for one. You could have got a new corncob for cheaper; they are generally recommended for newbies, they're the best "bang for your buck" and it's good to have a couple around anyway. Obviously it's too late now but if you get your eBay purchase and can tell right off the bat that it's a bust, I'd look into a cob.

Generally speaking I wouldn't get too crazy reaming out the bowl because you'll just have to rebuild that cake. If it's thicker than a dime width you might take it down a bit but I'd be more concerned about thoroughly cleaning the rest of it. Again, that's just my understanding, someone with more experience might tell you otherwise.

Also I don't know what's going on with the top of the bowl, whether it's burning through or if that's just some extra cakey goodness you can take down.

Either way, you've already bought it so you might as well smoke it. What do you have to burn in it?