Newminster blends - opinions/recommendations?

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by Dave Dueck, Oct 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dave Dueck

Dave Dueck Member

As my rambling of late may indicate, I've become quite a fan of the Newminster English Luxus blend (No. 17). I've also tried and enjoyed Blackberry Brandy, though it's on the lightweight side. Whether I can buy it locally or not, I'm ready and willing to try more, assuming the rest of the blends are as tasty as they are (apparently) inexpensive.

Besides light to medium English mixtures, I enjoy very sweet Cavendish blends and quality aros a lot, so I'm thinking of trying out some Rich Vanilla and Imperial Nougat. Also quite intrigued by their Superior Navy Flake, as it seems to get respectable reviews and I've never used flake tobacco before - seems like a good practice variety?

Anyways, anyone have any words of wisdom or recommendations for me? I gather this is a new line from the people who used to distribute PS blends, and that Newminster is meant to emulate the PS products to one degree or another.

2. TedVig

TedVig total pipeflake

The west seventh street location of golden leaf in St Paul had all those last time I was in...

Dave Dueck likes this.
  3. Dave Dueck

Dave Dueck Member

Nice, I wonder if the Uptown location carries them as well. Much closer for me. I'll give them a call soon.

TedVig likes this.
  4. Dave Dueck

Dave Dueck Member

Discovered the Tobacco Grove store where I do most of my business has only been sampling the blends, not stocking them... yet. They've been getting very good feedback about the Newminster products so hopefully they'll order in some bulk. The salesman I talked to today agreed with my thoughts on English Luxus.

Tony Malerich likes this.
  5. Jussto

Jussto Active Member

Their superior round slices are pretty tasty!

Dave Dueck likes this.
  6. Skiballa

Skiballa Member