1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.

Noob with a question...

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by James Harr, Jan 12, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. James Harr

James Harr Member

Hello all, I am somewhat new to pipe smoking although I first started smoking pipes 10 years ago, I never really got serious about the hobby. However, I am now diving a little deeper. I have a pipe that I picked up from a street vendor in Moscow, Russia in 2004. I don't speak Russian, so I couldn't really ask much about it. If anyone has any ideas about the pipe, please chime in. Specifically, I have a question about a small metal piece that sits in the bit. What is it and do I need to keep it in there? It seems like about half way through a bowl, it starts to gurgle and I think this piece might be trapping moisture. Any help is appreciated.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Sasquatch

Sasquatch Sales Account

That metal thing looks like some kind of condensor - I'd bet the pipe smokes better without it.

TRAVIS likes this.
  3. Lestrade

Lestrade Active Member

Yes, take that metal piece out.

4. IrishRover

IrishRover Active Member

That's a cool looking pipe! ..

5. James Harr

James Harr Member

Thanks, it will come out tonight. Unfortunately, it will have to wait on the smoke test since my new Peterson smooth calabash will be delivered today along with some C&D Epiphany.
    I think I paid around 1000R which comes in just over $30US. It is more sentimental than the 'perfect' smoker, but I still like to take it out once in a while.

спасибо!

6. Dimm

Dimm Member

Yeah I bought some older pipes in a lot recently and two of them had these in there. Whatever their function was I chucked them out and they smoke great without them. Does anyone know what the purpose of these is? Is it to condense moisture?

7. Kiowapipe

Kiowapipe Active Member