not really getting a buzz, is it normal?

Discussion in 'Need Pipe Smoking Advice? Ask an Old Fart!' started by trentongm, Dec 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trentongm

trentongm Member

i'm still pretty new to smoking. i'm just a little past three weeks. today i was smoking a good cigar and i noticed that it was really calming me down. i know that the effects of nicotine from pipes is suppose to be much less than what you would get from a cigarette, but i can smoke three bowls in a row and feel almost nothing. i've had some decent cigars, but the only pipe tobacco's i've had are house blends and some Prince Albert.

i never retrohale with cigars because i cant handle the burn, but i retrohale pipe smoke all the time. i know some people use pipes to help stop cigarettes, but i can't even really feel nicotine unless i'm smoking a cigar and i don't see how pipes could do anything for cigarette cravings. i tend to puff on my pipes less deeply than on my cigars, so that might contribute.

my first time smoking was last fourth of july, i got that sort of calm feeling but didn't get a headache or nausea like you hear with a lot of 'first cigar' stories. most of my family smokes and i've breathed in a lot of second-hand over the years. i guess it's also possible that my body isn't as affected as it would be if i hadn't been around smoke.

i read that different types of tobacco have different nicotine contents, with burley usually being the highest. i've heard people say in threads that plain burleys like PA will really get to them. i can(and do) smoke multiple bowls of it and be fine.

i'm mostly just curious about whether or not it's normal to be a little affected by cigars and not really affected by pipes at all. could it be the way i smoke? the tobacco's i smoke? do i just have a strong tolerance towards nicotine? if anyone has any ideas they would be appreciated.

2. KevinP

KevinP Member