Pipe Noob

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dungmaggot

I'm a newbie pipe smoker, been smoking cigs and cigars on and off for years but on a whim I picked up an inexpensive pipe and tobacco from my local Tobacco, Ball Cap, T-Shirt, and Camel Emporoium. The pipe is cheaply made, pine wood by the looks of it. Actually It looks like someone drilled a couple of holes in a block of wood and crammed a furniture dowel in one end, which is probably exactly what happened. The tobacco is BestValue Black Cavendish and at $4 for a 5oz bag you can imagine the quality.

In spite of all this I fell in love with smoking a pipe. Nothing is more relaxing than sitting on my porch, puffing away, and watching the evening fall.

After only a week I've decided I need an upgrade though. My brain tells me that smoking through pine is a bad idea...soft woods, resins...bad. I've been reading article after article online and I think that until I get a little more experienced an estate pipe would be a good choice. I realize there are pros and cons to estate pipes but until I can get a good base for technique I don't want to ruin a perfectly good pipe through poor break-in. A pipe that has proven its worth is perfect for me. Plus, frankly, the price is right.

As for tobacco...I have no idea. Since there are no tobacco shops worth a damn anywhere near me I'm thinking I'm going to have to rely on samplers ordered off the internet. Pipesandcigars.com has a Nording sampler that I may try.

Anyway, that's me! And my first post to boot...damn I feel special.

PS: Anyone have any suggestions? Places to buy quality pipes, tobacco samplers they have enjoyed? Little extras I'm overlooking? The square root of 45873.818?

Rugbysh9