Pipe Tobacco - overwelmed

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by Master Chief, May 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Master Chief

Master Chief Member

Been hitting the pipe off/on for 20 years. (mostly off)
    Back at it. Bought a blend at my local cigar/pipe shop.
    My question, I see all of the thousands of tobacco out there and wonder how to purchase online?
    How do you figure out what you like? My stuff is a local blend, no way to cross it.
    I would like to stock up before taxes go up but need to figure what I like.
    How did you guys do it?
    Where does the un-informed start ? Just by trail and error ?

2. IrishRover

IrishRover Active Member

Hi Master Chief... welcome to the forums! I am still a newbie.. 1 year at the pipe. I mostly read the forum and post question after question. These guys are very intelligent and no question is thought upon as menial. There is a good site Tobacco Reviews where you can read reviews and ratings (star)...
    Like you I am still learning and would like to stock up, but what to stock up on - ugh! there are too many choices - I feel your pain..

3. Jay

Jay Active Member

Greeting Master Chief. For me, it helped to figure what types of tobacco I enjoyed. Burley, Virginia, Latakia, aromatics etc. Then based on those likes or dislikes, explore what is offered in those strains of tobacco. A lot of it is trial and error, reading, research and such. If you have a chance, sign up for the next box pass as they are full of stuff you may never have the chance or budget to try on your own.

J

4. Master Chief

Master Chief Member

What is a "box pass" ?

5. HCraven

HCraven Active Member

+1 on tobaccoreviews.com