Quest for an everyday smoke...

Discussion in 'Need Pipe Smoking Advice? Ask an Old Fart!' started by Sonic82, Mar 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sonic82

Sonic82 Member

Hi everyone! I’m a little new to pipe smoking, but not to smoking in general. I always liked the idea of a pipe, but my prime motivation is to get me off cigarettes. The right tobacco will help me enjoy the experience more. So, far this may be the most important observation I have is.... I don't need to inhale with a pipe to for gratification like a cigarette...which is a very good thing!

I've also found I don't like aromatics.I actually find a good Cigar the most rewarding for that pure tobacco experience, but I don’t want to evoke the image of a Cigar smoker and a Cigars aroma is generally offensive to most people around you. Is there a pipe tobacco available that parallels a Cigar, but still smells nice like a pipe tobacco? Thanks in advance.

2. Scottly

Scottly Member

I'm sure somebody will point you the right direction for a cigar type blend. I will point you towards Carter Hall. Its a great tasting burley, readily available and worked great to get me off my 25+ years of cigarette smoking.

Elwin, Jeebs, cobbsmoker and 3 others like this.
  3. Snake

Snake permanent ankle biter

Scottly's correct, CH would make a great every day
    smoke. I would probably recommend Escudo.
    However, it's more expensive, and may break the
    bank as an every day bowl.

4. RTOdhner

RTOdhner Well-Known Member

Sir Walter Raleigh or Carter Hall. Granger or Velvet are also pretty good, but they are not consistent. Sir Walter or Carter Hall are always consistent, though, and they are usually easy to get at your local grocery store. If not, they can be ordered easily enough. If you don't mind ordering on line, then Peter Stokkebye has a large line of bulk tobaccos (aro and non) that are very good, and are just as affordable as Sir Walter or Carter Hall.