1. This forum section is for discussing pipes, it is not for advertising in any fashion.

Really big variation in smoking experience

Discussion in 'Pipes' started by Odin, Apr 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Odin

Odin Member

I'm a new pipe smoker (I've been smoking for three or four months now, though not very often, 5 times a week maximum) and I notice a really big variation each time I smoke. Some smokes will be very pleasurable and will just leave me at peace and feeling good, other times it just doesn't feel good at all and makes me empty the bowl before I'm done and makes me think "damnit, maybe I'll stop smoking pipe". What do you think, is this normal in new pipe smokers? Or is maybe pipe smoking not for me?

2. Klauswermann

Klauswermann Member

I think you need to give it some time, so you can get into the groove. When I started, like you, the experience was very hit or miss, but as I learned more techniques of packing, tamping, etc , and as I learned to listen more to my tobacco, things evened out. You will always feel a some "damnit" moment once in a while but they get few and far between.

WrightwoodJohn likes this.
  3. Brian Damage

Brian Damage Member

I have been smoking pipes for 18 years and I still have to fight with a bowl on occassion. The longer you are at it the more consistent it will get.

WrightwoodJohn and Stonewall like this.
  4. Stonewall

Stonewall Active Member

I agree! when I started pipe in 2004 I was smoking OTC's (not that there's anything wrong with that) and just couldn't find my nitch with smoking pipe initially.

It took several months to of trial & error to find a methodoligy that worked for me.

I didn't learn until becoming a member here that often times a certain blend works better in a specific type or design of pipe more so than others.

I still consider myself new to the art, so my advice is to take some time to experiment with different pipes and blends to find what works best for you.