Really new, looking for some advice.

Discussion in 'Need Pipe Smoking Advice? Ask an Old Fart!' started by Hugepom, Jun 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hugepom

Hugepom Member

I read the threads in this room and it seems that I may be a little behind the curve, even for what you may consider a "newbie".
    I'm looking for some suggestions on what I should go with for my first real pipe. I've been smoking for a few months now and after a very rough start, I'm starting to make some headway. As I am beginning to have an idea on what i like in the way of tobacco, I keep thinking I need to upgrade the pipe for the full experience. My current pipe (if it can be called that) is obviously junk even to me, so somebody point me in the right affordable direction for a new guy. I do know that I prefer a bent or full bent. Any suggestions?

2. Jussto

Jussto Active Member

I'm sure you are about to get a bunch of cobb suggestions, so I'll offer a couple of briar ones. For a bent I'd go for a Grabow Omega, or if you wanted something a little nicer,a Savinelli Duca Carlo. I have both of these and they smoke just fine, the Omega is 25 or 30 bucks, and the Duca Carlo is about 45 or 50.

Good luck!

TheMadMan, cobbsmoker and DGErwin11 like this.
  3. Pschoppy48

Pschoppy48 Member

Nording is a good pipe to consider.

DGErwin11 likes this.
  4. Bear84

Bear84 Member

If you have a local tobacco shop that sells other than glass pipes.... you may want to check out some basket pipes too. They can be had for ~$25 or so and some of them can be real nice smokers. You don't have to go find a big name, big $$ brand to get a good performer. Sometimes they are just the ugly sister of the big name brands, but will smoke very well.

5. Morse

Morse Active Member

For Briars I second the recommendation for a Savinelli.