Recommendations For Someone New

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by mitch11111, May 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mitch11111

mitch11111 Member

I'm fairly new to pipe smoking. I've read a lot about pipe smoking, and spent a lot of time reading through the posts on this site. I know this is a pretty common question, but what is are some tobaccos you can recommend for new smokers?
    From what I've read, I've gathered that Carter Hall is a pretty common tobacco for starters and I plan on trying a bowl of that for sure! I would also like to try an aromatic. Maybe Captain Black, although I hear some good and not so good things about that brand.
    Anyways any recommendations or tips you can send my way would be well appreciated. Thanks!

2. Sasquatch

Sasquatch Sales Account

Two tobaccos come immediately to my mind. First, Navy Flake from Mac Baren because it's just so well behaved. Burns lukewarm and tastes good.

Frog Morton or Frog Morton on the Town from McClelland - these give a guy a glimpse into a whole different world of pipe tobacco, namely, Latakia and the idea of an "English Mixture". These are campfire/beefjerky instead of cherry/vanilla. A real shock and a real pleasure.

Welcome to the pipe and to the board!

3. Marc

Marc Active Member

I would recommend you get a cob and a pouch of Carter Hall or Prince Albert first to learn the basics of pipe smoking; these tobaccos are easy to use and excellent for learning. They are easy to load, pack and light; they stay lit and smoke easily. Aromatics are not the best tobaccos to learn on in my opinion, most are overly moist and will smoke wet for new smokers. Carter Hall is a sweeter blend than Prince Albert.

4. Falconeer

Falconeer Active Member

Hi,