Smoking ruined dinner tonight.

Discussion in 'The Smoking Lounge' started by CustomDave, Nov 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CustomDave

CustomDave Member

So, I am pretty new to pipe smoking. Been at it about a month I guess and really enjoying it.

Tonight I decided to grill some KC strip steaks I had bought earlier this week. Nicely trimmed thick cut. They looked mouthwatering. I consider myself to be pretty good at grilling and BBQing in general. Smoking and grilling meats is a true family tradition and something I have known how to do for as long as I can remember. I can't remember the last time I ruined a meat on the grill before tonight.

So Tonight when I light up the grill I decide to light up the pipe with my new favorite blend called Irish Whiskey from a local B&M. Once the coals were at the right temp I threw the steaks on (off heat cooking of course) and added a few wood chips to give a bit of smokey flavor. About that time I noticed how well the pipe had been smoking up to that point. For the first time I could really taste some flavor and was getting no bite whatsoever. It was fantastic. I just relaxed in the chair on the deck and listened to some blues music. Really enjoying the pipe for the first time. After a few songs I got up and flipped the steaks. They were still looking good at this point, and the toby was still tasting great. I sat back in the chair enjoying the music and the pipe. Only had to re light it once, which was a real treat for me. Everything pipe wise was going better than ever. Then I realized the bowl was empty and wondered how long I had been sitting there. I rushed over to check the steaks. While not burned they were definitely well done. :thumbsdown: I prefer a pretty rare cooked steak.

Lesson learned today: Smoke after dinner not while cooking it. Unless it is something that takes a bit to cook like ribs. :bigyellowgrin:

2. Sasquatch

Sasquatch Sales Account