Tobacco for a cigar smoker

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by Pipenube, Dec 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pipenube

Pipenube Member

I am a long time cigar smoker. I smoke a variety of cigars however for those of you who know I generally lean towards maduro cigars of the fuller bodied nature. Right now I am smoking two house blends from my tobacconist both of them are aromatic in nature. I could not tell you anything about the type of tobacco and such other than its ribbon cut, as I am still learning about this hobby. I would like to try some stronger pipe tobacco, something a little more on the non aromatic side. Do you have any suggestions for a cigar smoker adventuring into pipe smoking?

Thanks

2. Coffee-Cup

Coffee-Cup Member

Pipenube! I would recommend Gawith Hoggarth Dark Flake Unscented; there is also Tambolaka, but it may be too strong for you. :ranger:

3. dubhdarra

dubhdarra Active Member

McClellands Domincan Glory Maduro.

4. Strongirish

Strongirish Member

Do you want it to taste like a cigar or a pipe? Old Joe Krantz from C and D is popular with cigar smokers. Half and Half is a good OTC for a cigar smoker.

5. Pipenube

Pipenube Member

:blink:

I did not think about that? Hum I guess I should pack up a bole and ponder it.

6. beaupipe

beaupipe Active Member

I lean more toward ropes and plugs when I'm looking for something cigarish (if you decide that's what you want). Gawith & Hoggarth's ropes are uniformly yummy and potent. Lately I like the Rum Twist, which has a trace of rum flavor that fades quickly after lighting.

I'll second Dark Flake unscented and Tambo as well.

7. Grim_Puffer

Grim_Puffer Member

Id say try billy bud its a full on english with cigar leaf.

8. Deckard

Deckard Active Member

I just got GLP Key Largo and Robusto for my father who is a long time cigar smoker trying to get into pipe smoking. I'll tell you what he thinks of them after Christmas.

9. cmw00

cmw00 Member