Tobacco Picks for a Beginner

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by natek, Jan 7, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. natek

natek Member

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to pipe smoking as I got my first pipe about a year ago and have only really gone through one tin. I have two pipes but tend to smoke cigars most of the time I choose to smoke. Essentially I'm looking for some recommendations for a tobacco that is strong and flavorful (I enjoy espresso, black coffee, scotch, maduro cigars, and breakfast tea) and then something more sweet and fragrant (I also enjoy sherry, port, and earl grey tea). To date, I have only tried the CAO Moontrance that I bought with my pipe, and I like it, but want to try some different things. I have heard good things about Orlik Golden Sliced which is enticing because I hear it has a slight bergamot casing (the flavor in earl grey tea and Swedish snus). I will probably end up giving that a try. Also since I love cigars, I think I may also like to try some sort of English blend?

2. bubbagump

bubbagump Well-Known Member

Strong and flavorful...Escudo.

3. muddler

muddler Member

OGS & Escudo are both good ways to go. For an English, try Dunhill 965 or Chelsea Morning with your tea or coffee in the morning. But try a good Va as well - get some McClelland Christmas Cheer - 2013 is very good. For a burley, it's hard to beat Solani Aged Burley Flake.

natek likes this.
  4. MakDragon

MakDragon Wizard of PSF

Fr Dempsey Blend from kramerstobaccoshop.com

Read the story about it too!

ruffinogold likes this.
  5. Monkey

Monkey Active Member

Dark Flake Unscented should have you covered.

Bill Dawson likes this.
  6. ruffinogold

ruffinogold Ruffinogold-Mayor, I.R.G.E.--At Large. Mayor

The skys the limit when youre starting out !

Blends that are easy to light and keep lit would be the way to go at first .

SWRA is an aromatic with nicotine and is about a mindless blend to light and keep lit