Tobacco suggestions for a new pipe smoker

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by Odin, Mar 4, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Odin

Odin Member

I've been smoking a pipe for a couple of months and all I've been smoking is Mac Baren Scottish Blend and Holger Danske Cherry Vanilla. Scottish Blend is good but I'm getting tired of it. Cherry Vanilla I didn't really like at first, but it's grown on me and now I like it a lot. But I can't keep smoking only these two and I'd like some suggestions to other good pipe tobaccos!

2. Tortuga

Tortuga Member

The old classic OTC stuff is always good, and cheap! It's not going to be a transcendental smoking experience, but it's not going to be bad.

If you want to try Virginias, McClelland Blackwoods Flake is about the top of the heap for me. I didn't "get" Virginias the first few times I smoked them though.

Somewhere on here is a list of the top tobaccos in each genre, I can't find it right now but I'm sure someone could chime in with it. You could do worse than trying four-star blends from tobaccoreviews.

3. SouthBound

SouthBound Active Member

Instead of suggesting a new tobacco, let me offer some advice that will help you define your tastes and save you some money and time.
    1. Go to the "Newbie Ask an Old Fart" section, and jot down the names of old farts that post lots of helpful advice. I don't mean guys that just have Well-Known Member under their name. Look for guys that have been posting for a long time and smoking for much longer, highly experienced pipemen that appear to know what they're talking about. Try to narrow it down to 3 or 4 names.
    2. Go to their profile pages and read some of their old posts. Look for threads and posts where they recommended their favorite tobaccos. Stick with one or two types of blends to begin with, say virginias and englishes or whatever you've already found to be your preference. List a couple of recommendations from each guy.