Too Wet?

Discussion in 'Pipe Tobacco' started by wpdarby, Oct 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wpdarby

wpdarby Member

So I'm a newbie pipe smoker and I picked up some cheap pipe tobacco at Walgreens. Its a cherry cavendish and I like the taste, but its a bit wet, and when I smoke it in my pipe, it feels like it gets wet. Is this because the tobacco is not dried completely or am I doing something wrong?

2. Jay

Jay Active Member

let some of your tobacco dry out, leave it on a newspaper or whatever you have for 30 minutes or 3 hours depending on how moist it is. Rule of thumb, if it clumps and sticks together when squeezed between your fingers, it may still be too moist.

And welcome to PSF!

J

3. wpdarby

wpdarby Member

Thanks Jay! I'll try that out next time I smoke.

4. Jay

Jay Active Member

Sometimes that Walgreens super bulk in a bag can be real wet, so leave some out tonight and smoke it tomorrow. If it does get too dry it will rehydrate if you throw it back in the bag.

5. wpdarby

wpdarby Member

Ahh good idea. Will do.

6. fruktflugan

fruktflugan Member

3 hours does most tobaccos... Overnight might be a bit too long.

Of course, If your toby is moist because the blender used humectants (propylene glycol) then it will dry when the statue of liberty grows udders and have milk, if that gives you any idea on how long to leave it out.

But for argument's sake, let's say your tobacco is of decent quality just a little moist, take a sample from it. Something like 5 pipes worth and leave it out on paper for anywhere between 30 minutes and 6 hours.

As another poster said: When it doesn't clump together as readily anymore and feels like it would be a little dry around the edges then you try smoking it again to see.